August 31st, 2012|
August 31, 2012
Yesterday, Ohio became the 39th state to ban texting while driving. According to The Plain Dealer, the law will take effect in March 2013. Until then, law enforcement will be stringently warning violators of the infraction and the dangers of a potential Ohio auto accident.
For adult drivers who are caught texting and driving, an infraction will be considered a secondary offense, meaning that an officer can only issue a citation for the violation if the driver was pulled over for breaking another law. Those who are cited could face a fine of up to $150.
The new law is no easier on juvenile drivers. For motorists under the age of 18, being caught texting and driving will be considered a primary offense. This means officers can issue tickets if they believe the teen weas texting. Also, on top of the $150 fine, a teen driver could have their license revoked for 60 days. A second offense could result in their license being taken for up to a year.
Some cities, such as Beachwood, have already begun writing tickets. A spokesman for the Beachwood Police, Chief Mark Sechrist, stated that the department has already issued 15 citations in their first week of enforcement.
The Cleveland personal injury lawyers with Nurenberg, Paris, Heller & McCarthy would encourage drivers to put the cellphone down anytime you get behind the wheel of a vehicle.