February 27th, 2013|
February 27, 2013
Distracted driving is a major problem in Ohio. According to records from the Ohio State Police, there were a total of 31,231 Ohio Car Accidents caused by the behavior from 2009 to 2011, which resulted in 74 fatalities and 7,825 injuries.
This growing trend of motor vehicle collisions prompted lawmakers to enact a bill that bans texting and driving. According to the Dayton Daily News, the new law will begin being enforced this coming Friday.
The new law will be a primary offense for drivers who are under the age of 18 years old. A first time offender will have their license revoked for 60 days and will also have to pay a fine of $150. Multiple violations will result in more costly penalties.
The laws will be a bit different for motorists who are over 18 years old though. For these individuals, being caught texting and driving will be a secondary offense. This means law enforcement will have to pull the driver over for another reason, such as speeding or weaving, in order for a ticket to be issued for a texting offense. Any violators who are caught though will also face a $150 fine.
The Ohio Personal Injury Lawyers at the law firm of Nurenberg, Paris, Heller & McCarthy applaud the efforts being made by lawmakers to improve safety along the state’s roads by, hopefully, reducing the number of accidents caused by distracted driving.